When Art Walks Don’t Attack.

The First Friday Art Walk here in Richmond was on again for October.  Previous unruliness led to it’s cancellation in September. I was very excited to be able to have my First Friday art fix back and was truly hoping that the city, the vendors and the crowd would all cooperate for a relaxing evening of art, music and community. I was kinda right…

Many of the galleries had new exhibits from photography to painting and even a live performance art type of thing (lots of smoke, weird lighting and live performers one of which was in a tub of black paint doing something with a book of drawings…)  There were less vendors and street musicians which for me took a little of the usual vibe away.  As did the heightened police presence – which I understand was a precautionary measure and a hopeful deterrent to anyone wanting to cause any trouble – but nonetheless caused me walk around in a state of waiting for all hell to break loose again.   Which it didn’t.  There was less of a crowd though – art enthusiasts and non-art enthusiasts alike.  For the former not so good.  I supposed people were just scared to venture out in fear of a replay of the August fiasco.  But fear not fellow artsy folk!!  I invite you all to come in November and help to take back the Art Walk…To me it’s the only way to keep this event what it’s supposed to be and to keep it going.

Here’s some photos of some stuff that caught my eye on the walk and the surrounding neighborhood…

Lady Face

Flower on Lighted Sidewalk

Sidewalk Dollar

Jefferson Fountain

Jefferson Fountain

Fountain Greenery

Robot Camera Eye

Building Weirdness - No idea what happened here or how I did this...

Looking Up

Church Tree and Moon

Church Entry

Looking Up in B&W

Church & Jefferson Clock Tower

What do you think?